Valley of The Free: A Pandemonium Rising novella

Ebook, 118 Pages
Grimdark Fantasy/ Adult/ Novella
By: Michael Sliter
Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

β€œRevenge is a good motive, but not the best. A man with vengeance in his brain is apt to make mistakes. He’s apt to do anything to see that the blood toll is paid. Is that yer story?”

Solace Lost β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜… 1/4
Wisdom Lost β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜… 1/2
Valley of the Free β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…

🌟 I am going to start this review by the fact that for the first time in my life, I have been quoted on the back cover of this book! This is very awesome but it does not affect my opinions on this book and I made that very clear to the author too.

🌟 This was only released yesterday, I was on my blog readers and saw the reveal on Novel Notions, It was a surprise release and I like this series so I thought it would be cool to get a copy and read the Novella soon. I discovered that it was free on Kindle and so I immediately got it. As usual, what I do when I get any book is to see the dedication and the first line which I did here, and from there I just could not stop reading and actually finished the whole thing in an hour and a half (or a bit less than that). The opening line is just brutal and dark which I missed in the second book and I just knew I was going to love it, but what I did not know is that it is going to be the best short book/ Novella I have read this year.

β€œKilling a man was easier when he was already dead.”

🌟 Writing a novella is harder than writing a full novel because there are limitations for everything and because I have been trying to write one for the last year and it is not an easy task. I think to be able to deliver a story with fleshed-out characters and plot in under 120 pages is just amazing!

🌟 This Novella takes place before the main series and it can be a great place to start the story, and although I have read the first 2 books, I think it just added a lot of depth for Ferl’s company which I had lukewarm feelings about but not anymore! We are introduced to Ferl’s story here along with his company including Ashland, Christoph and other characters such as Violet and The Turtle lady and Lady Escamilla. This book made me realize that I just love books with a crew and the story of them meeting through time jumps and backstories. That’s why I love Six of Crows, Kings of the Wyld, Never Die and this book so much!

🌟 The plot was very intriguing and I found it addicting, when I was approaching the end, I thought it could make or break the whole thing and I was happy to have that final plot that I did not see which made me love this even more!

β€œAnd when someone you love asks you do to do what you do best, you simply say yes.”

🌟 Summary: I think this is a perfect place to start the story and for anyone interested in experiencing this series. The prose is slick as always, the characters are very real and the plot was gripping from beginning to end! This all made this deserve the 7th five stars rating for this out of the 149 books I read this year! A perfect novella for fans of the genre!

Leave a comment