Army of the Cursed Review

E-Book, 314 Pages
Epic Fantasy
By: Karim Soliman
Rating: 🌟🌟🌟 1/2

I read this book for SPFBO 7. I read this after finishing The Wisdom of Crowds which I really liked and so I was still on a book hangover when I did so I will be very objective here.

The writing is good and it flows well, I originally planned 4 days to read this book but finished it in 2 days. It is not fancy but I liked the simplicity of it. The story is told through multiple POVs in third person with focus on three main characters.

I think the characters were distinguishable which is important in this kind of narrative. However, I think Leila and Nardine’s POV were easier to get into initially. I ended up warming to Hilgrim’s chapters too but it took some chapters till I reached that point. 

I think the plot is interesting yet some of the things happened fast and early in the book and it made things a bit convenient. Like you see that person A has an ability that is not that impressive but the narrative tells you that person B could really use that so you know the direction the story will follow easily.

The pacing is kind of fast which I like and the world building is not that complex. There were a bit of info dumps but the maps help in keeping things straight. I just expected to see more middle eastern representation specially that the author is Egyptian. 

Summary: I think it is a good story with simple writing and an interesting story line. The way it is told make it a tad predictable and although it was good, I found myself wanting more!

Image result for buy me a coffee

1 Comment

Leave a comment