An Absolutely Remarkable Thing Review

An absolutely Remarkable thingreview.jpg
Ebook, 352 Pages
Contemporary/ Sci-Fi
By: Hank Green


β€œEven on this most terrible days, even when the worst of us are all we can think of, I am proud to be a human.”

🌟 One of the worst thing people can do and specially parents is comparing brothers/ sisters. Because Everybody is a genius. But If You Judge a Fish by Its Ability to Climb a Tree, It Will Live Its Whole Life Believing that It is Stupid

*drowning in deepness*

Image result for drowning gif
🌟 The reason I am saying this is that I don’t like John Green books, I simply tried them and they are not just for me. But I am not here to compare those two brothers, I think their relationship is cute and they are supportive of each other but now let’s get objective and analyze the book.
🌟 I actually went into the book with middle expectations. I knew it involved a robot and social media but that’s that. The subject of Social media and its effect on our life is a subject that has been on my mind for a while. I have seen some friends grow and flourish social wise but I have seen how toxic that can be at the same time. Actually in rare occasions I felt obliged to write something not because I believe in it but because I wanted people to think so. Don’t judge me as we all do this!
🌟 Now the major problem in this book was its genre, I think it can be classified as contemporary/ Sci-fi which are two different and opposite genres. Contemporaries are supposed to be real while Sci-Fi makes you imagine and think. The contemporary part in this book was great. I wish it didn’t involve Sci-Fi as it made it hard to believe and unrelatable. The social media representation was one of the best I’ve ever read.
🌟 The pacing was kind of fast, the story was gripping too at first which makes it fast to read. Around Ch13 the Sci-fi part predominates which made the story slower, hard to believe and kind of boring. I even considered DNFing at one point but I pushed through and it improved once again toward the end.
🌟 The characters were average, not ones that will stay with me but not flat at the same time. I think they could have been a bit better. However, I like that they were older than the typical teenagers in novels and the same age as I am which was cool and I don’t see that much.
Overall, this is a book that combines 2 genres which would have been better if it focused on one (particularly the contemporary one). The writing was good and humorous and it had fast pacing for the majority of the story. It could have been better but sill is a good book. I ended up giving it 3 out of 5 stars. I still don’ know if I am willing to continue it and only time will tell when book 2 is released.

Glowing Star on Facebook 2.2.1Glowing Star on Facebook 2.2.1Glowing Star on Facebook 2.2.1
Prescription: for those who like both contemporary/ Sci-fi and looking for a good social media representation by an own-voice author (Given that the Green brothers life has been changed by social media).


If you want this book you can get it from here:

Image result for bookdepository

 

5 Comments

  1. Great review, Hamad. I still want to read this one, but I am a bit curious about the blending of contemporary and sci-fi! Social media definitely can be horrible, and I’ve read countless studies that it is making us as a society more isolated and depressed (which anecdotally I agree with). Since deleting my Facebook account and dedicating my time to Twitter, I have had a much healthier balance.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks Kaleena!
    I actually remembered you while reading this -for real- because it was all about data and numbers and codes. I think you will probably like it πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a comment